General Elections in County Galway, 1918-23: An Overview

Revolution in County Galway, 1918-23

Dr Conor McNamara, Historian-in-Residence, 2022

The Election of Bryan Cusack in North Galway in 1918 was part of a wider landslide victory for republicans across Ireland. Cusack was a medical doctor, a graduate of University College Galway and held a practice in Turloughmore.
Hardiman Library, NUI Galway
Frank Fahy was a national school teacher, member of the Gaelic League and a senior commander in the Four Courts Garrison in Dublin during the 1916 Rising. He was returned as a republican TD for Galway in the 1918 General Election and went on to serve in Dáil Éireann for 35 years as a member of Fianna Fáil
William O'Malley, Ballyconneely, was returned as MP for West Galway for 23 consecutive years until he was defeated in the 1918 General Election.
Pádraic Ó Máille, who was first elected in the 1918 General Election, was also a member of the West Connemara Flying Column during the War of Independence and was severally wounded in a republican attack at the Four Courts in December 1922.

Sorry, this entry is only available in Béarla Briotanach.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.