1916–2016 Memorial Stone, Limepark North

Site 16 on The Route of the Rising Trail

1916–2016 Memorial Stone, Limepark North
Photo: Courtesy Dr. Mark McCarthy

1916–2016 Memorial Stone, Limepark North

This bilingual memorial stone features an image of Cúchulainn, the ancient Irish warrior. It was unveiled at the original entrance to the demesne of Limepark House on 2 May 2016, to mark the centenary of the 1916 Rising.

Liam Mellows and members of the Galway Brigade Irish Volunteers disbanded at the house in the early hours of Saturday, 29 April 1916, leaving behind pikes,bandoliers, explosives, caps, bacon, and eggs. Limepark House, which was owned by Harry Persse of Woodville in 1916, had been derelict for around ten years. Peter Howley, who was Captain of the Ardrahan
Volunteers, lived in Limepark House after his own residence was burnt during the War of Independence. Limepark House was abandoned in the middle of the twentieth century.

To mark the Golden Jubilee of the Rising, a bilingual limestone monument was unveiled in the porchway of the house on 17 April 1966. It features a sunburst, with the date ‘1916’ beneath.


Developed by: Galway County Council, in partnership with the Heritage Research Group at Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT).

Bibliography: McCarthy, Mark, Mannion, Marie & Wrynn, Shirley (Eds), Galway County 1916 Rising Heritage Trail: Go Explore the Historic Sites & Memorials (Galway County Council & GMIT, Galway, 2017).

GPS coordinates: Dr Mark McCarthy, GMIT.

Webmaster for digital heritage initiative: Hilary Kiely, GMIT.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.