After County Galway’s 1916 Rising ended at Limepark House on Saturday, 29 April 1916, its leader Liam Mellows went on-the-run with Alf Monaghan and Frank Hynes.
After breakfast in the Howleys’ house, they travelled to the residence of Irish Republican Brotherhood member and Irish language teacher, Pádraig Ó Fathaigh. As Pádraig had already been arrested in Kinvara, it was left to his older brothers, John and Michael, to provide assistance. In the following days, the trio travelled through Knockroe, Drumminalough, Cournageeha, and Gortacarnaun. After crossing into County Clare and passing through Drumandoora, Loughaun, and Derryulk Upper, they hid in Kilduff Upper near Tulla for five months.
On 15 May 1921, towards the end of the War of Independence, the Ó Fathaighs’ residence was burnt by the Black and Tans as a reprisal for the Ballyturin Ambush.
To mark the Golden Jubilee of the Rising in 1966, a monument was erected by Patrick Cloran in front of the ruined house.
Developed by: Galway County Council, in partnership with the Heritage Research Group at Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT).
Bibliography: McCarthy, Mark, Mannion, Marie & Wrynn, Shirley (Eds), Galway County 1916 Rising Heritage Trail: Go Explore the Historic Sites & Memorials (Galway County Council & GMIT, Galway, 2017).
GPS coordinates: Dr Mark McCarthy, GMIT.
Webmaster for digital heritage initiative: Hilary Kiely, GMIT.